Sunday, 13 February 2011 19:06

Umi No Misaki (Manga, 2011)

Written by

Overview

There's a lot of stories about the gods and goddesses as they descend to the Earth where they find love and adventure with us unpredictable and exciting mortals. Still, so very few actually deal with the fact that these are what we have classified as divine beings. These creatures are what our race has worshiped since before we walked upright. Sure, they descend from their lofty homes and come to live with us, sometimes teaching us, sometimes tricking us, sometimes hating us, and sometimes loving us, but through it all...that very divinity is as much a part of them as our mortality is part of us, and we must not forget it. Come with me, as we go on a journey with Goto Nagi, Narumi Shizuku, Nagumo Karin, Mitsurugi Soyogi, and their friends as we explore what it means to be divine, and mortal, and how it relates to the love between the two...or four as the case may be.

Tuesday, 17 August 2010 05:01

Akuma to Love Song (Manga, 2006)

Written by

Overview


Ah, but aren't they all in their own way? As anybody with even a modest amount of common sense could tell you, children – even the older ones in high school – can be terribly cruel. It's a fact of life that most adults often turn a blind eye to. What's that, little Maryann is a holy terror and has been torturing her classmates? Well, kids will be kids, my little angel would never do something that terrible! Johnny's been getting into fights? He's just hyper, maybe if the teacher were doing a better job of teaching him he wouldn't be acting out! It couldn't possibly be because the child is… well, a child, and hasn't let learned what is and isn't acceptable in society, possibly because the parents are too busy putting blame on everything EXCEPT Maryann and Johnny they haven't taken the time to raise them properly… In any case, it's a fact of life. With the slightest provocation, children can and will be utterly evil, and not even realize that they're doing so. Hence we come to the subject of this review, Akuma to Love Song, the story of a young woman named Kawai Maria who's just transferred to a new school after being expelled from a famous private school, and the troubles that await her as rumors surrounding her expulsion reach her classmates.

Tuesday, 30 March 2010 14:35

Yotsuba&! (Manga,2010)

Written by

Overview

…actually, yeah. This is one of those that just work better if I skip to the review.

Wednesday, 12 August 2009 17:44

Heaven Sent (Manga, 2005)

Written by

Overview

What happens when your guardian angel falls in love with you? Kyle Taylor is about to find out this and more, or at least he would if this story were to actually concentrate on that at all instead of this quasi religious war between Heaven and Hell that his involvement in is, at best, completely worthless and unnecessary. Indeed, with the way this story goes, scenes like this are nonexistent, but then so is any coherent story telling, as I'll elaborate below.

Sunday, 01 March 2009 06:05

Franken Fran (Manga, 2007)

Written by

Overview


Who know stitches could be cute?

Paging Dr. Fran to medical ward 666... Paging Dr. Fran to medical ward 666... Your vic-, err, test subj-, err, patients are screaming. I mean, waiting. Got something that ails you? Feeling a little stiff? Don't worry, Fran's got just the solution for you... She'll have you patched up in no time flat, even if it means giving you the stitches right off her own back. Of course, such high quality medical care isn't free. It could cost you an arm and a leg – or maybe your just your sanity. If you're lucky.

Sunday, 01 March 2009 05:39

Change 123 (Manga, 2005)

Written by

Overview


I... have nothing to say.

Motoko is a sweet girl – quiet, shy, and socially inept, but still sweet. She tries not to attract too much attention to herself, which is tough when you're a pretty little thing with glasses and a rack that'd qualify you for entry into the Dead or Alive tournament. On the other hand, I wouldn't worry about her too much if she did take part in that particular competition... You see, Motoko has not one, but three adoptive fathers, each one of which specializes in a particular form of combat, and each one of them put Motoko through their own, intensive form of training. Well, that's all well and good, but there's one tiny little problem... Motoko's mind took a three for one split, and she developed three separate personalities to deal with them! Thus begins Change 123...

Tuesday, 20 January 2009 21:58

Dance in the Vampire Bund (Manga, 2006)

Written by

Overview

To all creatures of darkness, your salvation has arrived! Paper's please, yes yes...I see, they seem to be in order. What, you're still not sure what's all this about? How did you come here then? Oh, I see, terribly sorry about that, but I suppose we can't plan for everything. Let me explain. The dark sovereign, the ruler of all vampires, Mina Tepes, has constructed for us a sanctuary, just off the coast of Japan. An artificial island, fully sanctioned by the human authorities of that nation, where we need not hide or fear, where we can be who we are and live our lives as we wish under her watchful protection, as long as we obey her laws, of course. What did you think...she'd allow anarchy? Certainly not. She is in charge, and if you've got a problem with it, I'd suggest taking it up with her personally...just remember what she did to the last people to try that. Yes, it was with her bare hands, and I know she only looks twelve. Oh, that strapping young lad always hanging around her (or she's always hanging off of, depending on her mood)? That'd be Akira, her personal guardian...some even say her lover, though we all know she'd never risk that...at least, not yet anyway. She has several decades of growing left. Or would she risk it? Could be why there HAVE been so many attempts on her life recently. I mean, if you knew what that boy really was, that she'd do THAT with something like him well...I can only imagine how insulted some people might be. At least, those that are still alive after facing her wrath. So if you have a problem with her behavior, I'm sure she'd love to hear from you. We'll be sure to dust up your remains and deposit them in the outgoing trash the following morning...if she's done with you by then.

Monday, 16 June 2008 04:24

BioMeat: Nectar (Manga, 2007)

Written by

Overview


BioMeat: Nectar

Before I get into the meat of this review, I have to pause for a word from our sponsor... Hungry? Don't know what's for dinner? Can't find something to put on the plate? Well, no worries folks - try Bio-Meat!™ Healthy, nutritious, and environmentally friendly, Bio-Meat: It's what's for dinner. With that having been said, let's cut out the gristle and get on with the tenderizing. Recently I've been getting into manga a bit more, and in the course of exploring that ran across a little treasure trove of a place called SnoopyCool. Great little place, check it out folks. Anyway, among other series that I found there was a little horror movie in the making named Bio-Meat: Nectar.

Saturday, 09 February 2008 00:43

Welcome to the NHK (Manga, 2004)

Written by

Overview

Your life is over now, your life is running out. When your time is at an End, then it's time to Kill again. We Cut without a Knife, we live in Black and White. You're just a Parasite, now close your eyes and say Good Night.

Feeling a bit psychotic now? This is good, because you'll want that frame of mind to really get into the NHK...if it doesn't already have you, heheheheh.

Page 1 of 2

Copyright ©2012 Dragon's Anime. All rights reserved. Site design by Dragon's Anime.