Wednesday, 25 November 2009 19:21

Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu Seasons 1-2 (TV, 2008-2009)

Written by

Overview

Oneday at the Hakujo Academy private school, a second year student, Yuto Ayase, is asked by his otaku friend to return a book for him to the school library. While there he runs into the beautiful, intelligent, popular, and insanely rich Haruka Nogizaka who seems to be acting a little oddly. Quite by accident he finds out that she herself is a die hard fan of anime and manga. Initially dismayed by the discovery of her secret, she is elated to find out that he's more than willing to help her keep it. The two quickly strike up a fast friendship and even more as time goes on.

Wednesday, 11 November 2009 00:17

Avatar: The Last Airbender (TV, 2006)

Written by

Overview

A set of siblings, Sokka the aspiring warrior and his sister Katara the aspiring Water Bender, out on a fishing trip and lamenting the state of affairs their world is currently in, happen upon an ice burg where trapped inside they see a boy. The boy, upon sensing the power Katara is using as a Water Bender, breaks free from his icy prison, and it is here we meet the main character of the show, Aang, The Last Airbender and eventually found to be the Avatar, the only person capable of mastering the manipulation of all four elements. It is also widely prophesized that the Avatar is the only one who can bring back balance to the world by defeating the Fire Lord and ending the war that the Fire Nation started just as Aang was born some one hundred years prior. Only problem is, Aang is still just a boy of twelve years despite being frozen in ice for a century, and will need training to master all the elements before even making the attempt. Oh, and he’s got to master the elements before Sozin’s Comet shows up again, which will provide the Fire Nation all the power it needs to finish the job they started a hundred years ago.

Sunday, 18 October 2009 19:42

Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~ (TV, 2009)

Written by

Overview

One of the things that the entertainment industry often draws upon is that of the mob. From Al Capone to The Sopranos, and more episodes of Law & Order than I care to admit to having watched, America has a love affair of sorts with the notion of the mafia. It's not just an American obsession, of course, but we're certainly in the running for being the head of the family, so to speak. It's a popular setting – and thus we come to this week's review, Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~, an exploration into the dark and seedy world of the mob, and what happens when you drag an otherwise normal person into it.

Thursday, 15 October 2009 19:17

Spice & Wolf II (TV, 2009)

Written by

Overview


Travelling companions. Last year I had the chance to bring you the review on one of the more original storylines I've seen in the last decade or so, Spice & Wolf. At the time, I mentioned that the TV series was based on a series of light novels by author Isuna Hasekura, and had been under the impression that the novel's run was finished. As it turns out, though, the series is ongoing – and is up to twelve volumes as of this review. As I said, Okami to Koshinryo has proven to be wildly popular in Japan and also here in the states, spawning both a manga and of course the first TV season. The good news is, Lawrence and Horo are back this season for another round, this time with a new animation studio, Brain's Base.

Friday, 09 October 2009 20:07

Pandora Hearts (TV, 2009)

Written by

Overview


She looks lonely...  I'd be glad to keep her company... One of the things that's always sure to get my attention, at least enough for a first look, is just about any take on the realm and mythos of Alice in Wonderland. Now, I'm not talking about the Disneyland fantastic voyage type of Wonderland, though to be fair looking back on THAT movie now as an adult you can pick out certain… tendrils of the sort of Wonderland I enjoy. No no no… When I say Alice in Wonderland, I'm referring more to the darker, American McGee's Alice type of Wonderland, or the Wonderland of Zenescape's comic universe. The truly twisted, foul and menacing place of former dreams and innocence lost to maturity. The place where everybody's madness – or even sanity – waits, patiently, for the day when you'll revisit it. Imagination is a strange and wonderful thing, but somewhere along the line, we fooled ourselves into believing only good comes out of the mind's playground. Pandora Hearts is a series that borrows some of the darker Wonderland's world, and spins it out in a new way.

Thursday, 08 October 2009 19:42

Canaan (TV, 2009)

Written by

Overview


Go for Action Synethesia is a classification for a neural phenomenon in which two or more senses are linked. For instance, somebody seeing a tree might hear a particular note or tone in their head at the same time, or when they see a written number they might involuntarily see it as a given color. There's a number of different medically recognized forms of synethesia. So, what does this have to do with Canaan, the series that I'll be taking a look at to day? Well, the titular character, Canaan, is a synesthete. Her particular form of the condition grants her ability to see intent and emotion as an aura of color. And what's any good little girl with the capability to read people like a book just by looking at them to do but become a full-fledged mercenary?

Thursday, 08 October 2009 07:02

Valkyria Chronicles (TV, 2009)

Written by

Overview


Yeah, that was my reaction too.I think that I've mentioned a few times in a couple of game reviews that I rather enjoy the whole World War II era story world. I'm a big fan of the classic Call of Duty series – which is not to say that CoD4 didn't kick ass and that MC2 won't kick even more. But I've always found there to just be something better about World War I and II than today's conflicts. Valkyria Chronicles is a Strategy RPG game that was released for the Playstation 3 late last year, and earlier this spring it made the jump to an anime format. It's billed as an alternate universe take on World War II – the European portion of it, at least - but of course this being an anime it's not at all as simple as that.

Friday, 03 April 2009 16:12

Tytania (TV, 2008)

Written by

Review

This reviewer just finished the TV anime series Tytania. I watched the HQ release as fansubbed by ANBU and posted for torrenting. The series is based on novels published in Japan, not generally available outside Japan. I had no access to the novels, and my review is based entirely on the content of the torrented material.

Tuesday, 17 March 2009 22:08

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha (TV,2004)

Written by

Overview

Been awhile since I've been able to do something like this. May as well make the most of it. Imagine if you will a guy with one of the worst voices you could possibly imagine getting all genki and hyped up in a little moe girl context. Alternately, if the first cannot be conjured into your psyche, imagine it's Frank Welker's rendition of Megatron or Peter Cullen's rendition of Venger, just for the right amount of mental scarring. Possibly Darth Vader, but I'm not sure he can handle much more wusification after what Lucas pulled on him.

Now...let us begin.


Copyright ©2012 Dragon's Anime. All rights reserved. Site design by Dragon's Anime.